Narberth Boro

Narberth is located on land originally deeded to Edward Rees (which later became “Prees” and eventually “Price”), who arrived from Wales in 1682. A portion of this original tract became the 100-acre (0.40 km2) farm of Edward R. Price, who founded Elm as a Quaker-friendly town in 1881. The town name changed to Narberth in 1893, and Narberth was incorporated in 1895. In 1995, the borough celebrated its 100th birthday with a year-long celebration.

Narberth is surrounded by Lower Merion Township, close to the western edge of the city of Philadelphia. It is located adjacent to the "Main Line" train corridor. Narberth is unique  in that it is fairly enclosed; no major thoroughfares run through the town, but Montgomery Avenue runs northwest/southeast along the borough's northern border.

Narberth is a walking town, with virtually all of its shopping and recreational facilities within walking distance of residents' houses. SEPTA's "Main Line" railroad tracks separate North Side from South Side. Narberth is mostly a residential community, with a central business district along Haverford, Narberth, Forrest, and Essex Avenues. The train station is located in the center of the town.

Among the commercial downtown landmarks are the town's original movie house, the Narberth Theater, a double-screen theater; Ricklin's Hardware Store; Mapes 5 & 10 and The Greeks Bar and Restaurant. Coffee shops, dress shops, and antique establishments line Haverford Avenue, the main street. 

The Narberth Playground, bordered by Haverford, Wynnewood, and Windsor Avenues, is known for its popular summer basketball leagues, featuring summer night games with some of the best local high school and collegiate players. The playground has a unique and traditional July 4 festival, mostly unchanged for more than a century, which begins at 9 AM with children's races and culminates twelve hours later in one of the region's best-known fireworks displays. Narberth's public library, renovated in 2009, is located adjacent to the entrance to the children's playground on Windsor Avenue.

South Narberth lies south of the train tracks and over the Narberth Avenue bridge. The residential area extends west into Wynnewood and south into Merion.  

The northeast section was the so-called "working-class" Narberth, populated by turn-of-the-century row houses, which today are often inhabited by descendants of Italian and Irish immigrants. The area has many long-time family businesses, such as Joseph Gaudini's Tailor Shop and Al DiBonaventura's Barber Shop. Its center is the narrow intersection of Iona and Woodbine Avenues. Ryan Christopher's Restaurant is in this part of town. Saint Margaret's Catholic church, its school, and a Lutheran church reside on this area's western border.

There are two recreational facilities: The Narberth Playground and the Sabine Avenue Playground. The Narberth Playground has two basketball courts, three tennis courts, a field area, a junior basketball court and a playground for younger children. The Sabine Avenue Tot Lot, on the grounds of the former Narberth Elementary School, is the smaller of the two. and was recently renovated with new playground equipment. 

The children go to the Lower Merion schools.

Narberth has become a very popular town in which to live because of it's location by the train  which is just a short distance to Philadelphia and the brisk shopping area within the heart of the community and close by Wynnewood Shopping Center.

See more by clicking on the Market Insider Tab on the home page. Enter the zip code 19072